Consulting

The Research Institute accepts selected consulting assignments from governmental and non-governmental institutions as well as private companies that deal with core RI issues. In accordance with Leibniz's principle of "theoria cum praxi", the Research Institute aims to implement scientific findings in practice and to enrich its own scientific activities through practical experience. Additionally, the advisory activities contribute to the financing of the scientific activities. A selection of the Research Institute's previous clients is listed below.

Smart Rights Consulting

Added value

You constantly process personal data in your organisation, for example from employees, existing and prospective customers, suppliers or business partners. Ideally, the motivation for diligence and compliance in data protection lies in your own claim to be a reliable partner in the business world. A responsible company respects and protects the fundamental rights of the people in its sphere of activity. In a sense, the fundamental right to data protection is a catalyst for privacy, protection against discrimination, freedom of opinion and human dignity.

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), which has been binding since 2018, is now finally pushing the issue of data protection into the compliance area for large corporations, with penalties of up to EUR 20 million or 4% of global annual sales threatened. Companies of all sizes are well advised to familiarize themselves with the GDPR. We can assist you with this.

Unique selling proposition

Data protection is not an end in itself, and interacts with many different legal and, above all, technological issues that ultimately determine a decision. Sound advice depends on the skills of the persons giving it. The consulting team of the Research Institute - Smart Rights Consulting consists of experienced interdisciplinary lawyers, who combine expertise in the fields of law, technology and economics individually and as a team, as well as experienced software developers in the field of IT security. Numerous publications, lectures, courses and research projects on data protection and IT security distinguish our consultants. Our many years of experience should be applied to your company in a way that is tailored to your needs. The individual consulting is in the foreground.

In this way you can ensure that you can control liability and image risks with our solutions. We also offer the development of tailor-made technical solutions for the practical implementation of your compliance processes. Thanks to our broad network in the Austrian and European research landscape, we are able to design and implement an individual and multidisciplinary project with the best available partners.

Subject areas

The Research Institute accepts consulting assignments in particular within the following subject areas:

Data protection management & GDPR Smart Mobility
Data protection in the healthcare sector Data protection in research
Information security & Security by Design Human Dignity by Design
Technical data protection & Privacy by Design Industry 4.0 & IoT
Data protection in software development Legal Informatics / Legal Tech 
Labour law and data protection Identity Management
Data protection and education Human rights and environmental technology
Dealing with subject access requests etc. Codes of Conduct
Integrated Management Systems and Friendly Audits Fintech & Blockchain
Impact assessment & Risk management Big Data and data protection

Consulting

Das Research Institute nimmt ausgewählte Beratungsaufträge von staatlichen wie nicht-staatlichen Institutionen sowie privatwirtschaftlichen Unternehmen an, die Kernthemen des RI berühren. Ziel des Research Institute ist es, nach dem Leibniz'schen Grundsatz "theoria cum praxi" wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse in die Praxis umzusetzen sowie durch Erfahrungen aus der Praxis die eigene wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit zu bereichern. Darüber hinaus trägt die Beratungstätigkeit zur Finanzierung der wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit bei. Eine Auswahl der bisherigen Auftraggeber des Research Institute ist unten angeführt.

Smart Rights Consulting

Mehrwert

Sie verarbeiten in Ihrer Organisation ständig personenbezogene Daten, etwa von Mitarbeitern, bestehenden und erhofften Kunden, Lieferanten oder Geschäftspartnern. Die Motivation für Sorgfalt und Compliance im Datenschutz liegt im Idealfall im eigenen Anspruch, ein zuverlässiger Partner in der Geschäftswelt zu sein. Ein verantwortungsvolles Unternehmen respektiert und schützt die Grundrechte der Menschen in seinem Wirkungskreis. Das Grundrecht auf Datenschutz ist gewissermaßen ein Katalysator für Privatsphäre, Diskriminierungsschutz, Meinungsfreiheit und die Menschenwürde.

Die seit 2018 verbindliche Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO) schiebt das Thema Datenschutz in der Praxis nun große Konzerne endgültig in den Compliance-Bereich, drohen doch Strafen bis zu 20 Millionen Euro oder 4 % des globalen Jahresumsatzes. Betriebe jeder größe sind gut beraten, sich mit der DSGVO vertraut zu machen. Wir helfen Ihnen dabei.

Alleinstellungsmerkmal

Datenschutz ist kein Selbstzweck und spielt in der Praxis mit vielen verschiedenen Rechtsmaterien und vor allem auch technologischen Themen zusammen, die letztlich eine Entscheidung determinieren. Eine fundierte Beratung hängt von den Fähigkeiten der beratenden Personen ab. Das Beratungsteam der Research Institute – Smart Rights Consulting besteht aus erfahrenen interdisziplinären Juristinnen und Juristen, welche die Fachkunde in den Bereichen Recht, Technik und Wirtschaft einzeln und im Team vereinen, sowie beratungserfahrenen Software-Entwicklern im Bereich IT Sicherheit. Zahlreiche Publikationen, Vorträge, Lehrveranstaltungen und Forschungsprojekte zu Datenschutz und IT Sicherheit zeichnen unsere Berater aus. Die langjährige Erfahrung soll maßgeschneidert auf Ihr Unternehmen angewendet werden. Die individuelle Beratung steht dabei im Vordergrund.

So können Sie sicherstellen, dass Sie mit unseren Lösungen Haftungs- und Imagerisiken beherrschen können. Wir bieten dazu auch die Entwicklung maßgeschneiderter technischer Lösungen zur praktischen Umsetzung Ihrer Compliance-Prozesse an. Durch unsere weite Vernetzung in der österreichischen und in der europäischen Forschungslandschaft sind wir in der Lage, für Sie ein individuelles und multidisziplinäres Projekt mit den besten Partnern zu konzipieren und durchzuführen.

Themenbereiche

Das Research Institute übernimmt Beratungsaufträge insbesondere innerhalb folgender Themenbereiche:

Datenschutzmanagement & DSGVO Smart Mobility
Datenschutz im Gesundheitswesen Datenschutz in der Forschung
Informationssicherheit & Security by Design Human Dignity by Design
Technischer Datenschutz & Privacy by Design Industrie 4.0 & IoT
Datenschutz in der Softwareentwicklung Rechtsinformatik / Legal Tech 
Arbeitsrecht und Datenschutz Identity Management
Datenschutz und Bildung Menschenrechte und Umwelttechnik
Umgang mit Auskunftsbegehren etc. Codes of Conduct
Integrierte Managementsysteme und Friendly Audits Fintech & Blockchain
Folgenabschätzung & Risikomanagement Big Data und Datenschutz